Excavating the Moment

 “I see your heart. Why should there be even a moment of fear? This practice is the basis for the exhortation that each one of us has to surpass our teachers, surpass our ancestors. We do it by abiding in this dharma state completely, by taking responsibility, respecting what has been offered, and using it exhaustively. We exhaustively practice intimacy with what is available to us in every moment.”

Posted on April 6, 2013

Dharma Discourse by Konrad Ryushin Marchaj, Sensei

http://zmm.mro.org/teachings/manifesting-our-virtue/

 

I like the word “exhaustively” because it says everything. It’s like drinking life to the dregs. No leftovers or excess. There is no way to avoid using resources. We must eat, bathe, use toner if we have an office job, etc. But we can make sure we are wasting as little as possible. This is part of the “reduce” and “reuse” aspects of “Reduce, Reuse, Recycle.”

But how do “we exhaustively practice intimacy with what is available to us in every moment”? This about being deeply where we are, not fantasizing about being elsewhere. (That is hard for me.) I think of it as excavating the moment.

Respecting what has been offered helps us to be good guests wherever we may be. Unless you own where you are right now, you are a guest. You are representing someone else as part of their group: family of origin, in-laws, your alma mater, whites, blacks, employees, men, women, Gen X, whatever. You never just represent yourself. To be gracious is to be a good example of the groups you belong to. If someone offers something in good faith, accept it in the spirit offered. Rejoice with those who rejoice and mourn with those who mourn.

I guess the point of all of this is simple: it’s never just about you. We are all part of a bigger picture. What part do you want to play?

 

Tags: ,

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

Leave a Reply

