Intuition and Siimplification

I didn’t realize it until the past few days, but I now see that my becoming more Buddhist in my perspective is an attempt to access my right brain. I always knew that I was left-brain obsessive and that that was not helpful in any way, but I’m only putting the pieces together now.

I knew that I wanted to spend my time in school “digging deep” into myself. What exactly I expected to find, I have no idea. Business school has convinced me that the average worker is overwhelmed. School has taught me how to think in a business-like manner and speak management-ese, but so what?

What the business world needs is for employees to not be so overwhelmed and for management to function in a way that benefits everyone, not just stockholders or upper-level executives. This boils down to a couple key issues: simplification and ethics.

Everyone is inundated continually with information and demands for attention, so many that even responding to the majority of them is unrealistic. This is where intuition comes in. What should be responded to and what shouldn’t? Hierarchy demands that you respond to the big boss man first. Common sense demands that the customer’s demand take precedent because having no customers even puts the big boss man out of a job.

I am more convinced every day that everything is energy. The business implications are staggering. If a desk is messy, odds are good that its occupant is having trouble finding everything in a timely fashion, and the time spent looking for things is at company expense. With every object being imprinted with the energy of the user, even simple tasks can be overwhelming because one is surrounded with irrelevant and distracting energy. Simplification is for work ease and sanity. The 5S Japanese system of housekeeping is good business sense.

Of course, part of the reason lower-level employees are overwhelmed is because upper-level management does not have a sense of direction. The simplification and intuition development necessarily start at the top. When confronted with economic realities, HR issues, and competition, management is just as capable of being overwhelmed as anyone.

Tags: ,

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

Leave a Reply

