Wabi-sabi and Change

“On a metaphysical level, wabi-sabi is a beauty at the edge of nothingness. That is, a beauty that occurs as things devolve into, or evolve out of, nothingness” Leonard Koren

http://www.globalonenessproject.org/library/articles/beauty-wabi-sabi

An emphasis in Buddhism is emptiness. In our interconnected reality, metaphysics talks about energy and matter exchanging places (materializing and dematerializing). I take wabi-sabi to be beauty from a Buddhist or quantum physics perspective.

The opposite of wabi-sabi is the Western view of beauty: symmetrical, artificial, mathematical in its precision, and smooth. There is a concept of permanence in Western ideas of beauty. This makes Western beauty unrealistic. Look at advertisements: unreality rules. Even the Parthenon is in ruins. Permanence is not part of reality.

Even as a Christian, I saw how doctrine evolved over the centuries. Of course, some people see the process of doctrinal development as only being one of clarification. But one look at first century Christianity in contrast to the varieties of doctrines promulgated today shows that to be utterly false. Even Greek Orthodoxy (which I have spent a decade of my life in) is still at odds with the Roman Catholic Church. There is no agreement on some of the fundamentals. Everything changes, whether people and hierarchies consent or not.

Things come and go. Why not celebrate the changes of the seasons and the rough textures of natural fabrics?

Tags: , , ,

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

Leave a Reply

