Life Has No Remote

“Life has no remote. You have to get up and change it yourself.” Unknown

I saw this quote somewhere and absolutely loved it.

I look around and see many people who don’t do anything positive for themselves and then complain how bad their lives are.

Motivation can be the hardest thing in the world for me to have, but even ten minutes a day of doing something positive can have reverberating consequences. Even little changes make me feel  ten times better.

The people who have time on their side are the ones that are making even a small effort to improve their lots in life. For those who make no effort, entropy wins the day and their lives gradually fade away, often to the palpable relief of others. Their problems don’t get addressed and so accumulate and eventually drown them.

Stop waiting for a savior. Take responsibility. Taking responsibility is the only thing that has ever helped me. I’d rather deal with problems as they come (or prevent them altogether) than to have to deal with them all simultaneously.

Tags: , ,

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

Leave a Reply

