Letting go of all

“If we really want to get rid of suffering, completely and totally, then clinging has to go. The spiritual path is never one of achievement; it is always one of letting go. The more we let go, the more there is empty and open space for us to see reality. Because what we let go of is no longer there, there is the possibility of just moving without clinging to the results of the movement.” Meditating on No-Self, A Dhamma Talk Edited for Bodhi Leaves, by Sister Khema, Buddhist Publication Society

I think I’ve gotten fairly good at letting go of things. Right now, I am bored.  I am not clinging to any idea or activity. I am not suffering. Emotionally, I feel fine. Physically, I could just lie down and take a nap. Perhaps I have so successfully made my life drama-free that I hardly know what to do with myself. All I am seeking at this point is to stay awake.

Talking to a friend, I started to look at this time in my life as a time to reinvent myself. That’s a good way of looking at it. Now that school is over, I can do things more at my own pace. I wonder what that is like.

Tags: ,

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

Leave a Reply

