Eureka! Found the Quote

I found the quote I was looking for, and then some. The quote is from Ursula K. LeGuin. “As a man’s real power grows, and his knowledge widens, ever the way he can follow grows narrower, until at last he chooses nothing, but does only and wholly what he must do.” I found the quote on page 183 of Maria Nemeth’s Mastering Life’s Energies.

I also found another quote from Buddhist author Rita Gross in the Fall 2013 issue of Buddhadharma: “In the larger scheme of things, there’s a level of choicelessness about doing what needs to be done for the greater good that’s more important than anything else. That level of choicelessness is the basis from which I approach whatever arises in the present. I really don’t think about calculating karma in a self-interested way.” (p. 44)

This is the kind of mindset I want to develop: doing what needs to be done without over-analysis, repulsion, or attraction. It embodies a level of maturity that is rare.

I believe I found the quotes the same way I find everything. I know something is out there. I look to no immediate avail. I move on to something else, always keeping the question in the back of my mind. Then I find what I am seeking everywhere. It’s sort of like buying a new car. Suddenly you see your make and model everywhere.

The hard part is the moving on, letting go, not getting stuck. It’s easy for me to get stuck. “If I just try harder…” I tell myself. Ugh.

Tags: , ,

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

Leave a Reply

