Chapter 50 Tao Te Ching

“The Master gives himself up
to whatever the moment brings.
He knows that he is going to die,
and he has nothing left to hold on to:
no illusions in his mind,
no resistances in his body.
He doesn’t think about his actions;
they flow from the core of his being.
He holds nothing back from life;
therefore he is ready for death,
as a man is ready for sleep
after a good day’s work.” Chapter 50, Tao Te Ching, Stephen Mitchell Translation

After getting going on paying for final expenses for Barry yesterday, this chapter speaks to me more poignantly. It is about going with the flow, letting go of all resistances, intuition, naturalness, and presence. There are no illusions, just dealing with reality.

“He doesn’t think about his actions; they flow from the core of his being.” This sounds like being a vessel for something that wants to come about. It sounds like cosmic midwifery.

“He holds nothing back from life; therefore, he is ready for death.” This is an anti-hoarding verse. I think about my mom’s dad, one of those people that went through the Depression and never threw away anything he was sure he could re-purpose at a later date. When he passed, it took my mom and one of her sisters three months to go through all his crap. If he had released things as he used them or given them to others who needed them more, my mom’s and aunt’s job would have been so much simpler. I vowed after his death never to be like him in his hoarding tendencies.

Use what you have, give away what you don’t need, and create emotional and physical space for yourself and others.

 

 

Tags: ,

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

Leave a Reply

