Liberating Emotions

“I now see the emotional habits that one has as vipaka-kamma (result of kamma). If I accept whatever emotions come up, let them be in consciousness and then let them out, they will be liberated from their prison. I find this a skilful way of looking at it. Even after years of moral conduct and strict practice, it’s surprising what emotions still come into consciousness. But in terms of practice, whatever comes, you don’t make any problems out of it, you just recognise the opportunity to liberate this wretched creature, or this emotion, from its prison.”  Emotional Habits, by Ajahn Sumedho

 

I am unsure whether one can ever deal with all the potentially reactive places within oneself. But I do believe that it is theoretically possible. Life will throw things at you; that is a given. What I am talking about are those knee-jerk reactions coming up from the depths of our subconscious.

I like this article because it is all about being skillful. If looking at a situation is not helpful, find a different perspective. There is no need to cling to a perspective that is destructive to anyone.

“[W]hatever comes, you don’t make any problems out of it, you just recognize the opportunity to liberate this wretched creature, or this emotion, from its prison.” This is the essence of drama-free living. Stuff will come up. So?

Tags: , ,

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

Leave a Reply

