What is Supportive?

I have been wondering lately how to communicate to people living in the parallel universe of facebook and other online sites.

Business school has prepared me for the semi-fake world of “professionalism,” but social media is about more than looking like a businessperson. It is its own reality. People say things and expect others to believe them. What if you know that their posts are basically delusional? Confrontation seems overly harsh.

Being a blogger, I understand that people expect me to put up a positive image and I don’t want anything floating on the internet that could damage my career or credit rating. However, I try to show the world that I understand that I am not perfect and have issues and try to deal with them honestly. Everything in my life, as far as I can make it, is reality-based. It is not always pretty, but that’s real.

I want real, mutual relationships with my fellow humans. I am uncertain how possible that is on facebook. People tell you want they want you to believe and then are likely deeply insulted if you even insinuate that what they are saying may not be 100% true, regardless of how implausible it seems.

Am I obligated to respect their delusions? What does it mean to be supportive of someone whose posts raise a lot of questions?

I want to help my fellow humans. I want to be a good friend and bodhisattva, but I have no idea what that entails in today’s fake, social-media saturated world.

Tags: ,

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

Leave a Reply

