Proactive Change

The other day, I drove around my old hometown and a neighboring community. The weather was spectacular. Michigan is so beautiful physically. Economically…not so much. It seemed like half the houses were up for sale and there was a palpable feeling of depression in the air. There was little traffic and people seemed to walk very slowly. It was weird.

It’s easy to try to convince oneself that things are improving around here, until you actually open your eyes. Other states are starting to recover, jobs-wise. Not Michigan.

I could really see and feel the winds of change. I feel the urgency. Things are changing, whether we are ready or not. There are three kinds of people: those that make things happen, those that watch things happen, and those that wonder what happened.

There is so much in life that we cannot control. Let us take responsibility for those things we can. Even if we don’t do a great job, it’s better than making no effort.

It’s easy to criticize, but let’s get off our butts and do something to prepare for the inevitable changes in our lives. I have no respect for arm-chair quarterbacks. It’s like Obamacare. Republicans are dead set against it, but they have proposed nothing comparable that would cover the 40 million Americans without insurance. Will Obamacare suck? Probably, but it’s not like they have any better ideas. The government stinks at a lot of things, but those things still need to be done, regardless.

It is way too easy to live in a very insulated world. My parents do it fabulously and enjoy it. I do not want to be like them. I want to make a positive difference, at the very least for myself and my husband. If we don’t let ourselves get too comfortable, we may have the motivation to accomplish something.

Tags: ,

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

Leave a Reply

