The World Needs Authenticity

“The world needs you. It needs you free of pretense; it needs you as you are; it needs you brave and loving.” —Roshi Joan Halifax

It is so hard to be pretense-free in a world that rewards conformity. The only way I can think of to do it is to live so simply that 1) I have nothing worthy of theft and 2) I can easily find a job to support my simple lifestyle (not be held hostage by a certain size of paycheck). I want to have the freedom to take time off or just be human and occasionally catch a cold.

I have begun my journey to being pretense-free by quitting church in a couple of weeks. It just got too hard to continually act like “it’s all good” when it hasn’t been good in years. I don’t know what I think or believe anymore and acting like I do is phony and exhausting. Putting on my church face every week is just not worth it. Some environments are just not authenticity-friendly.

 

 

Tags: ,

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

Leave a Reply

