Random Acts and Holy Fools

“The Four Wisdoms –Offering, Tenderness (Kind Speech), Benevolence, and Sympathy (Identification) –are the ways that we can help others, and these are the practices of a bodhisattva. Benevolence means to devise ways of benefiting others, no matter what their social position.” From buddhistdoor.com

Remember a few years ago, when people came up with “random acts of kindness”? We can all do these things. I try to find ways to bless people, or at least not be pains in their keesters. These are practices of a bodhisattva.

I believe in the concept of “holy fools”. Orthodoxy (and many world religions, including Buddhism) has the idea of someone that always goes around doing good and violating social norms. It looks sort of like benevolent political incorrectness. It is absurdity for the benefit of others. To argue against the holy fool is to argue for the maintenance of a dysfunctional status quo. The holy fool is free from the need of others’ approval, making them a nightmare for emotional manipulators. The holy fool is rebelling against stupidity in whatever form it may take, not necessarily against authority figures (that is, unless the authority figure in question happens to be stupid).

Let’s go out today and do something helpful for someone, even and especially if others disapprove.

Tags: ,

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

Leave a Reply

