Values and Resolutions

My friend that is moving to the East Coast has a lot of really nice stuff, including a house that she has invested a great deal of time and energy into. She wants to keep it all. Maybe she will be able to. I don’t know.

What I do know is that, to keep her stuff, she will need to make enough money to pay her current mortgage and rent an efficiency apartment while she settles into her new location. Ouch. She has a great deal of sentimental value in her possessions.

She is inspiring me to further simplify my life even further without knowing it. I don’t want to end up in her position. I will be as supportive as I can be, but I want freedom more than stuff.

My ability to help her comes from the simplicity of my life. All I deal with is my husband. My house is just a house to me. It has no sentimental value. I have literal and metaphorical space in my life that my friend can occupy as she transitions into her new life. The reason I can help her is that I am not like her.

Her house represents security and stability in her mind. The problem is that the status quo of what she is making and the trajectory of Michigan’s economy simply do not allow her to keep her house. She needs a miracle to stay here and keep her house. She had a phone interview yesterday, with a law office in Maine. The security and stability her house represents to her are imaginary. Perhaps they are a necessary illusion, but they are illusory nonetheless.

This is why I am increasing efforts at simplifying my life. Simplicity means flexibility. The less stuff I have, the less I need to insure, fix, find space for now, and eventually haul away. My friend will need one of those gargantuan Mayflower trucks to move all her crap, if she moves. A little U-Haul and I am good to go.

Once basic needs are met, it is difficult for me to imagine that there is such a thing as simplifying my life too much.

Tags: , ,

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

Leave a Reply

