Getting Unstuck

We’ve been getting unstuck from the snow storm/arctic vortex. Serious shoveling has been involved. It has been physically and emotionally exhausting. Today is the first day I have been outside since Saturday night. It is Wednesday now. I am trying to recover from cabin fever.

As a snide aside, newscasters have been reporting about Hell (Michigan) freezing over. The temperature in Hell was -11 degrees Fahrenheit. A fence labeled Hell was shown. I assume it had a gate. That would be the Gates of Hell, which may have prevailed for a few days, weather-wise.

What’s been bad is that I stink at accepting help and there is simply no way for me to do everything that needs to be done. Barry can’t really help because of the Huntington’s. So I basically go crazy.

I even feel guilty for purchasing a new purse from Amazon. Never mind that my current purse is in terrible condition, with the straps literally unraveling. I have been looking for a cat purse for a while now. I just couldn’t give up my beloved Laurel Burch cat purse, so I ordered a new one.

For the first time in days, I can now see beyond the next 24 hours. Amazing the things you take for granted.

Tags: ,

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

Leave a Reply

