Not Needing Help?

“If you want to help the world, you must be beyond the need of help. Then, all your doing, as well as not doing, will help the world most effectively.”–Nisargadatta Maharaj

I don’t know if I will ever be beyond the need of help, but I do understand the gist of the quote. You can’t give someone something you do not possess yourself. Also, emotional investment is not always the best idea.

If you want to help people, you need to have some space or margin in your life. If you are crazy busy, it is impossible to be available for others. If you are on the verge of bankruptcy, it can be tough to buy a cup of coffee for a friend. You can’t be taxed on all sides and help others.

I feel a need to create space for others, to help others sort things out. I don’t believe that I need to solve people’s problems, but I can help be/provide the safe space for others to see their issues. How many opportunities do we miss because we are too overwhelmed to notice anything beyond our limited ways of coping?

Tags: ,

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

Leave a Reply

