New World

“Our soul work, quite simply, is to find and remove whatever gets in the way of our being who we are.” Angeles Arrien Walking the Mystical Path with Practical Feet, Lotus, Winter 1991 issue

That sounds so simple and like a recipe for minimalism, but that’s not necessarily what it is. It could also just as easily be a motivation for questioning our participation in any and all organizations, especially hierarchies that work very well for the few and not so well for the many.

I see a new world being born. I see it in community-supported agriculture, in non-profits meeting the needs of citizens (and avoiding bureaucracies as much as possible), in Buddhism and peace spreading far and wide, and so many other ingenious and ultimately subversive activities.

The old, conservative guard is feeling rightfully threatened. Their world is falling apart, without a doubt. The problem for them is that they lack the flexibility to respond appropriately to a quickly-changing world. While they wait for permission to do something, some young person is taking responsibility (there’s a concept!) and simply doing what needs to be done, with or without anyone else’s approval.

Young people are not waiting for permission to live their lives anymore.

It used to be that older people would patronizingly pat the heads of young people and say, “Someday, you’ll understand.” Now, it’s the young person patting the elder’s head, saying, “I know you don’t approve. That’s okay. I don’t expect you to understand.”

Wow. What a different world I live in. It’s beautiful to those of us that welcome it. It, literally, is the end of the world for people trying to live in a past long gone. Pity is the only response.

Tags: ,

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

2 responses to “New World”

  1. Tom says :

    Hi Cindy, I’m just now getting a chance to look up your blog. The post from today reminded me of a something I wrote a year or two ago about “the year I became uncool” because I turned 35. Sometimes I feel like I’m the old person in your blog entry and sometimes I feel like I’m the young person in your blog entry. The world then keeps changing back and forth for me!
    http://www.faithandleadership.com/blog/07-14-2011/tom-arthur-the-year-i-became-uncool

    • cdhoagpurple says :

      I’m 46.I was 13 when Reagan became president. I feel like the world is upside-down sometimes, compared to 1980. I can’t even explain to my parents how different the world is now from then. They have no idea.

Leave a Reply

