Change, Energy, and Movement

Change, Energy, Movement

Everything is changing and moving. I keep running into problems with people and organizations that choose not to change. Eventually, I must let them go. I cannot allow their limitations to become mine. How do you get people to change? As near as I can tell, you don’t.

I am tired of watching churches die due to their failure to adapt to the changing environment. Groups are more than happy for help—on their terms, of course. When young people walk away, older people seem to have the attitude, “Good riddance. We don’t need you anyhow.” The homophobic preaching continues, driving away the only demographic that might improve the church’s survivability: the younger people. They say, “This is how we do things around here. Take it or leave it.” My response is, “Okay. Bye. Good luck with that.” There is no point arguing.

I see the same thing in Michigan’s businesses. They want you to have a J.D. and tons of secretarial skills. Starting pay? $10/hour. When confronted with the disconnect, their response is instant: “We can’t afford to pay more.” But you can afford to drive away from Michigan everyone with more than a high school diploma? Really? What precisely do you plan to do when there aren’t any more educated people left in Michigan and you literally cannot pay enough money to keep people here?

When confronted with the alternatives of change or death, everywhere I look, I see people choosing death. It’s like a diabetic that refuses to eat less sugar. What they are doing is literally killing them, but they have no intention of taking life-saving measures.

These organizations demand that things be done their way, even as they empty out of customers/parishioners/employees. What can a person do?

What I won’t do is go down with them. Their limitations remain their own; I refuse to adopt them. They can sink, but they’re not dragging me along with them.

My frustration is that I feel like I have some very useful skills to offer the world—for a price. I have student loan debt and when I need to support myself, my volunteering days will likely be over. I didn’t get these skills for free, and neither will any future employer of mine. I can always learn more skills, but then my price will go up as well. My time is valuable and it will be treated as such.

If you pay minimum wage, you will get minimum-wage quality employees: low skills, no transportation of their own, and very possibly needing regular time off to see their probation/parole officer. I am willing to start near (not at) the bottom, but completely unwilling to remain there indefinitely.

People/organizations refuse to change/learn. How can I become part of the solution? What can be done to help people refusing to learn basic science and accept the reality of global warning? Just how hot do things have to get? I’m hoping my mother dies before things get too hot because she still lives in that pre-scientific worldview. (“If we don’t admit it’s happening, then it is not really true.”) What can you do with people who try to impose their morals on the next generation without any consent of the younger generation? Older people’s opinions are routinely dismissed, and this is why. Life is growth and change. To refuse to grow or change is a death sentence. Defending intellectual stagnation is not a good strategy for creating influence.

The old world is passing away. A new one is emerging. I will be part of the new world, whether I like it or not. I am just trying to find a place for myself in it. I want to be somewhere learning/growth/maturing are not synonyms for “heresy” or “insubordination.” I will never stop learning. I want to work somewhere that values growth. So far, I do not believe it is in Michigan, the Orthodox Church, or the Republican Party. I left the Republican Party many years ago, the Orthodox Church a few months ago, and Michigan is next, when Barry passes. If they choose not to advance in tandem with me, what other choice do I have? Only to kiss my brains, dignity, and common sense good-bye.

Tags: , , , ,

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

Leave a Reply

