Follow the Leader

“At a deep, brainstem level, a question we’re always asking about leaders is, ‘Do I want to follow you?’” (The Zen Leader, p. 43, Ginny Whitelaw)

Notice that this is totally subconscious. We do this naturally, without asking whether or not such an evaluation is “fair.” Such a gut-level judgment comes from pure survival instincts. You don’t want to follow someone that is going nowhere or that you sense has their own best interests at heart, at your expense, of course.

There are precious few leaders in this world of overly-abundant managers. How many people do you know that you truly admire? You’re lucky to find a handful in a lifetime. It is an unbelievably high standard in a world of chaos and rule-enforcers. Managers are a dime a dozen. Managers try to “manage” change, which I think is hysterical. It ranks right up there with “time management.” You don’t “manage” time; you can only change your relationship to it, unless, perhaps, you are a shaman with time-travelling capabilities.

I try to be very careful regarding whom I follow or even hang around with. I believe that you become like the people you spend time with. That’s why I backed off participating in church. I felt like the way they handled money was blatantly and unapologetically unethical. They made no excuses because that would have implied that they had a conscience or even were interested in possessing one. I didn’t want anyone thinking I was in cahoots with them. I don’t need that kind of reputational slime clinging to me.

Can I be a leader? Even if I never have an upper-echelon position, I can still hold myself to high standards. I don’t know if I will become someone others admire, but I know I can become someone I respect.

Tags: ,

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

Leave a Reply

