Sinkhole

Sinkhole

A few weeks ago, in Detroit, a road crew was filling potholes. As they were doing so, the ground gave way and sucked in a couple vehicles. There was simply no ground beneath the road and the pressure put upon it resulted in collapse.

I kind of feel like my life is like that. I get rid of stuff and clean my house, but try to maintain the pretense that my life is remaining the same. The ground beneath my road is being shoveled away slowly. At some point, pressure will be applied and even the pretense of normalcy will be gone. The tectonic plates have shifted.

Part of the plates shifting comes from finding new, functional role models. I no longer look to a church. The people I admire are minimalists, Buddhists, systems-thinking business leaders, etc. What I admire is their extraordinarily clear values. They have what they need and do not seek more. They are off the consumerism carousel. They know what they are and what they want to be. They have a plan on how to get from point A to point B.

Many organizations that I have belonged to have been sinkholes. With no incoming youth or new ideas, the pretense of things going on as usual continues. Lalalalala. The older generation retires or dies and the organization fades away, but at least they didn’t have to change. 

Tags:

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

Leave a Reply

