Accelerating Change

World Speeding Up

 

No matter how far off course I get, I am no longer stuck as I was in the past.

Many years ago, when I started business school, I decided that I wanted that period of my life to be one of going deeper within. I wanted to resolve as many issues as possible.

That was a fateful decision. Once a ball starts to roll, you may or may not have the ability to stop it. It’s a lot like becoming a minimalist, only with psychological issues. You start to clean up this one issue and another entire layer is revealed. Perhaps the process ends at some point, but I am not sure I will reach that point in this lifetime. Even when I cannot resolve an issue immediately, the spiritual/emotional excavation process has exposed the inner processes keeping a problem stuck in place.

I went off on a spiritual tangent lately because one of my Christian friends is upset about something going on at her (formerly our) church and the death of a really kind older lady there. It is hard to watch people I love suffer bad outcomes, but the whole thing made me see the hazards of making other people’s problems my own. Should I just abandon my Christian friends? I don’t know, but I do know that I am done making new ones.

There are many good people in this world of every imaginable (or no) religion. I want to be part of as many solutions as possible. The next time someone complains to me about anything, I plan on asking them what they plan on doing about it. People will probably stop telling me much of anything. I am so okay with that. I badly need a break at this point. I try to have empathy for everyone, but if it doesn’t lead to creative problem-solving trains of thought, then maybe I am contributing to the problem.

Every change that occurs is an opportunity for something positive. For example, my friend in Maryland is working for a family law firm that may be going under soon. She is worried, understandably. However, she is using the chaos in the office to learn about family law out there. She studies QDROs in her spare time. By expanding her skill set, she becomes more useful where she works and is becoming more valuable in the job market in general. I think that’s awesome.

It sounds awful, but I want to find ways to use the negative consequences of other people’s behavior to my advantage. I want to create positive outcomes for myself and others by using my willingness to change and learn new skills. There is so little I can change in this world, but change is a’coming—faster than ever.

Tags: ,

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

Leave a Reply

