What Zen is About

Things are rough right now. Barry’s sponsor died last Saturday. Today, I found out that his shrink died. The guy was jogging, had a heart attack, and died. It is a total shock for everyone that knew him.

My car is having serious issues. It has been noisy lately, but had been running fine. It actually started running strangely on the way to the mechanic. It’ll cost over $2,100 to fix. Are you kidding me?

My TV sent out a spark last night. Not good.

Impermanence is real. There is a Zen saying: “Gaining is delusion; losing is enlightenment.” I have the feeling I’m about to learn what that really means.

I am determined to face the reality of my life with no buffers. That is what Zen is about to me.

Tags:

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

Leave a Reply

