Casting About

“While I was casting about for something to do for the rest of my life, I hit on a scheme. I’d seen how common it was for an otherwise respectable yard to be surrendered over to the wilderness for the lack of a spade. And the worse it got, the worse it gets. I suggested to my husband that I start an enterprise – not for landscape design or decoration, for which I was unsuited, but just for weeding. I would call it “Just Weeds.” I would go over to people’s houses every week and just pull weeds – probably weeds they didn’t even know they had! I thought it was inspired, but he thought it was lame. So instead I do it every day for no pay.” This is taken from Karen Maezen Miller’s book: Paradise in Plain Sight published by New World Library, May 2014

I feel like Miller, casting about for a direction for the long haul. I do know a few things:
• I want to solve problems,
• I do not want my solutions to create problems for others, later, and
• I can’t pretend not to see problems when they stare me in the face.

This all sounds so obvious. Who wants to create problems? What I have found is not so much that people want to create problems for others, but that they just don’t care if they do. That is the way of the world we have created.
I have started an approach similar to Miller’s: I look for problems to be solved. What can I do to make things work better, more simply, etc.?
I can’t make Barry well. I can’t stop my brother from killing himself one beer at a time. But I can make my life better one choice at a time.

Tags:

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

Leave a Reply

