Recovering and Purging

I’m baaaaaaack. June was one trauma after another: car problems, deaths, appliance problems, etc. So I spent the first half of July recovering from June. I needed rest.
Now I am rested and have started purging again. I am running out of things to purge. I have run into a wall. Now the stuff I purge has sentimental value; it just doesn’t meet the criteria of being transport-to-Virginia worthy. I am letting go of parts of myself, phases of my life that were not all bad. I just don’t want to take them with me. I want a fresh start and am willing to do what it takes to give myself that.
My friend in Maryland just got a fabulous job working as an administrative assistant at a national law firm. They have a positive attitude toward her taking the bar where they are: Washington, DC! She has made it. It seriously inspires me.
I’ve been praying for her and now feel like some barrier has been overcome. Change can come painfully slowly, but once that invisible fence has been hurdled or slid around, change can occur very, very quickly. I no longer sense any sort of sticking point for myself, either.
My goal/point in life is to solve problems: organizational, personal, spiritual, whatever. I can use my MBA towards that end. Purging my stuff eliminates potential problems, such as lack of space. I go around looking for problems to solve. I know there is a place in this world for the likes of me. I am not sure what it is precisely, but I am going to try to enjoy the remainder of my Michigan life because, once I move, I may never retire. I am sure of having more to do than I know I can handle. The world has many problems and I can be part of many, many solutions.

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

Leave a Reply

