Got habits?

I’ve heard that habits are character. I believe it. Everyone wants to do something with their life, but few develop the habits that would make their dreams into reality.

That is why I like Zenhabits.net so much. Babauta takes life in bite size pieces. Right now, I cannot handle anything more.

There is also the admiration factor. My advice is simple. Look at the people in your life. If they are older than you, ask yourself if you want to be like them at their age. If not, flee. Do not allow other people’s disapproval stop you from having and using your common sense. Having sound judgment is actually a good thing.

My goal in life right now is to become someone I would have admired when I was younger.

Buddhism offers the twin foundations of renunciation and compassion. I believe it is best for the renunciation to be voluntary, but, at the very least, I can try not to resist the renunciation life is calling for. I can develop positive habits that will serve me well for the long haul.

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

Leave a Reply

