Attention, Neurological Issues, and Stuckness

Everyone knows that I have been crawling out of a pit of being stuck. I slid into it so easily and find it now a challenge to escape. I am doing it, however, simply because I refuse to remain stuck indefinitely.

What is blowing my mind at the moment is how everyone in my life is having their own issues. We all have issues. This is different. I have three primary friends. Two have ADD and the third has a closed-head injury, or Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI). Oh yeah, and I am also married to someone with Huntington’s Disease, a genetic, progressive, neurological disorder. See the theme? Seriously. What are the odds?

My response is to figure out what I can and can’t do.

My friend with the TBI is driving me a little nuts. Every time I speak with her, I dread when she brings up the topic of diet, because she is obsessed with it. Once she starts, she is off and running for the next couple hours. She is stuck on the topic. She is stranded in the eternal now. When I have attempted to steer the conversation in a different direction, she brings it right back. For her, this is a new obsession. For me, I have already “been there, done that.” I was obsessed with food twenty-something years ago when my life was spinning out of control. I made a vow back then not to ever let myself go back to that dark place. I am unsure how to handle the situation today. What I do know is that changing your diet is not a primary treatment for a TBI. I don’t know what I can do for her. I’ll just send her blessings for now.

I have been reading Healing ADD by Dr. Daniel Amen. It is fascinating. It talks about seven (!) different types of ADD. They have some commonalities and significant differences. Diet is one facet of treatment, along with exercise, medication, supplements, behavioral therapy, and nixing the video games. The book is fascinating. I also feel confident that I am not ADD. If I can figure out how to relate better to my friends, that itself would be worth the purchase price.

I am also reading Meditating Selflessly: Practical Neural Zen by Dr. James Austin. I am looking for guidance for my zazen to help me be more beneficial to others. Isn’t that the ultimate occupation of any bodhisattva?

I know what it’s like to be stuck. I keep plugging away at changing things. It is so hard to watch my friend be stuck. I don’t know if she has the ability to get herself unstuck. When I attempt again to change the topic, we’ll see what happens. Or perhaps her husband will contact me. I’ll try to help, if I can. If I am out of my own pit by that time.

Tags: ,

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

Leave a Reply

