Using a Letting Go Technique

In my quest for sanity, I purchased a book by David Hawkins, Letting Go. It is having real effects on my life, but I don’t know where this is headed. For me, I was just trying to let go of anything toxic because I don’t want to carry around emotional or physical poisons or unneeded stress.

The idea is to release whatever feelings you feel. Just feel them, accept them, and be okay with them.

It’s a very powerful idea, but with unintended consequences. In some of his earlier works, Hawkins has stated that just reading his books can cause sudden, unexpected shifts forward in consciousness. That sounds wonderful but abrupt. I think I’ve had it happen a couple of times. It has been greatly disorienting. But holding on to poisons is not exactly appealing, either.

This past Friday, I was feeling some uncomfortable feelings. I just sat with them. Then I felt better. Then I felt tired. How long had I been holding that stress? What would that stress have done to my body had I retained it?

Then something shifted. I felt it very quickly, clearly, and distinctly. I’ve only felt similar things when something has ended in my life: a relationship, my desire for a particular job, that kind of thing.

I still don’t know what happened. But I suspect it is transformative. My desire or need for something, what I do not know, may be gone. The need may or may not have been met, but part of me has moved on, regardless. At this point, someone may offer me now the thing I have let go of the need for (whatever it is) and the offer will seem strangely irrelevant. That’s when I’ll know what the shift was about.

Letting go is powerful, but I am not convinced that the person can always know what all they are letting go of. You find out later. Letting go of feelings entails a necessary loss of the illusion of control. Who wants to be out of control? But who really is in control?

Tags: ,

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

Leave a Reply

