Mudslides Putting Out Wildfires

Drama, drama, drama.

Barry had blood work done and his PSA and TSH were very high. I thought the cancer might have come back. We’re pretty sure the prostate doesn’t have cancer, but the thyroid we are unsure about.

A high TSH means the thyroid is not working, and this is likely due to the ridiculous amount of radiation he had when he had tonsil cancer. One of the signs of low thyroid is weight gain. Obviously, Barry is incapable of weight gain. For years, he was losing weight and it freaked me out. And then…the weight loss mysteriously stopped. Now we know why. The low thyroid may have saved his life for a few years.

Years ago, Johnny Carson once joked that the mudslides in California had put out the wildfires. He was such a smart ass that he made an excellent comedian. The point was painfully true. This problem over here could possibly solve that other issue over there. The low thyroid prevented the Huntington’s from causing weight loss. Tell me that’s not funny.

So now he’s on Flomax and Synthroid, for the high PSA and TSH, respectively. The Flomax can only help. The Synthroid…I’m not so sure about. What if his thyroid kicks back in and he starts losing weight again? I told him that if he starts feeling more energetic to eat more.

Doing lots of letting go. Of assumptions, expectations, plans, desires, etc. Life is insane. I can’t make plans because I have no idea what’s going on. This is not doable long-term. People want to know what my plans are. How would I know?

Tags: ,

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

Leave a Reply

