Enforced Silence

A couple days ago, the satellite receiver died. Drama, drama, drama. We have been without TV since then. They should come tomorrow and install the new one, which arrived today.

My concern was the idea of being without TV for days on end. Would Barry be okay? TV is his life. All he does is sit in his chair with the TV on.

My other concern was for myself. Would the quiet get to me? It’s easy to talk about silence but another thing altogether to be immersed in it.

Everything has been fine. For Barry, I’ve gotten him WWII magazines.

What has surprised me has been the ease that this has given me. Meditation has been easier and I have been able to get a lot done without any distraction. Part of me wondered how well I could handle things if Barry were gone and I was living in silence and solitude. Now I know: fabulously! I have felt empowered to do the things I normally want to procrastinate on.

Tomorrow, the guy should come and get it working sometime in the afternoon. Then things will get back to normal. Good for Barry. Okay for me, I guess. At least I know now that I can handle the silence.

Tags:

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

Leave a Reply

