Unexpected Resources

My life has been crazy and a tad dramatic lately. My house getting shot at (even if unintentionally) was a wake-up call. Given the BB gun shot six inches from my head six months ago, this was a jolt. So I’ve been dealing with the insurance company, the window guy, etc.

I went to the blessing as usual Monday night. My New-Agey friends were there. A couple of them, Linda C. and Denise, were genuinely concerned for my physical and spiritual welfare. They contacted a medium/earth-based cleanser/healer and contributed to her giving my house a remote reading this past Wednesday evening. They were concerned enough about me to help out financially. That means something.

After the cleansing, the healer called me and gave me some instructions. One of them was to put into the ground a jar with some items representing protection and three pointed objects. The weather was wretched: cold, windy, rainy, and basically nasty. Linda went to Denise’s and got a little statuette (?) of Shiva the destroyer and Linda herself contributed the jar, five cloves of garlic (three for the jar and two for cooking), and three pointy screws. I dug the hole and we blessed these odd objects for their purpose of protection. When I offered to take her out to eat out of gratitude, when said she had errands to run, but that she would love to hang out, go to the New Age bookstore, or any number of things, “because that’s what friends do.” ( I almost cried.)

I am so grateful. OMG. To stand outside in the icky weather (the nastiest of the season thus far) is a big deal to me. She did not have to do that.

I have a new friend, at least one.

I am in a spot now where I have to evaluate everything in my life. The friendships I developed in my twenties do not necessarily fit my life today. Letting go of the old has made some room for the new.

And then there are my parents. This past summer, I don’t know what I would’ve done without them. It seemed like, every time I turned around, they were pulling out a new TV from their trunk to give me and Barry. They will be reimbursed from the insurance company. What would I have done without my mother’s mad skills in the home maintenance department? I know nothing. She has used all of her brain cells in that category, as opposed to my none. It reminds me of how Einstein’s wife had to go to the university where he worked and walk him home because he didn’t know the way. They have been a huge resource.

When I start to have time for myself, I want to help others in the way others have had to come to my rescue. The jar, screws, and garlic cost just about nothing. It was her willingness to help (even verifying with the healer that I was burying it in the proper place) in the windy, drizzly weather that meant everything.

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

Leave a Reply

