Interconnections and Nonduality

The latest issue of Tricycle has an article called “We are not One” about interconnections, nonduality, and karma. It is thought provoking. It talks about how the “need to feed” is a sign that we are truly separate, how we must all feed on one another. What makes us one is what we do, not our essence.

I have to agree with the article regarding many things. If we were truly one, then your eating dinner would fill my stomach. Compassion would be unnecessary because my getting a good night’s sleep would leave you well-rested. Your traveling would open my eyes. Sometimes, especially economically, life truly is a zero-sum game. The delusion of uncontrolled capitalism is that of infinite resources and markets. The concept of karma would be rendered meaningless if my wearing heavy clothes kept you warm. The article talks about how some people use nonduality as a way of rationalizing their lack of positive actions. I agree. Nonduality can be a warm, fuzzy concept that gives people false reassurance of the benevolence of their selfishness. I’ve seen it used that way. Karma means “action” and not just sending pleasant thoughts to others.

The flip side that the article did not go into is the invisible interconnections we all share and are unaware of. I have always been a systems thinker and found invisible interconnections fascinating. You press a button here and something pops up somewhere else. You don’t see the result and the person elsewhere sees the event happening in front of them as completely random.

I believe we are on the leading edge of just beginning to understand some of the more interesting aspects of the web we live in. I believe that some people actually do have psychic powers. I don’t seem to be one of them, but I have friends that are very in-tune with the spiritual realm and information that the rest of us do not have immediate access to. This is why I am more agnostic than atheist: Just because I cannot see something doesn’t make it unreal. People I know are frustrated at our government’s ability to access our personal data. Take that concern and add in the psychics. How can you have anything resembling privacy when there are people that can seriously read your mind?! We don’t generally see the interconnections, but that doesn’t mean that others are incapable of doing so.

The foundation of some the weirder aspects of interconnectedness is quantum entanglement. Given that our molecules are continually being recycled, we are literally connected to everything. We are made of star stuff.

Right now, my life is very limited, with taking care of Barry and the house. I wish I could be refreshed by someone else resting. I wish I could use my skills by someone else holding down a job. My life doesn’t feel worth living sometimes and there is no light at the end of the tunnel most of the time. I try to convince myself otherwise, of course, but with only limited success. No one can give me my life back. No one can do my work for me. There are simply things others cannot do for me. The social isolation is real. I am truly not “one” with others in any meaningful way. I wish.

Tags: ,

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

3 responses to “Interconnections and Nonduality”

  1. Ninasusan says :

    Have you ever had that interconnection with others or are you just closed right now because of what is going on in your life? I may be wrong…but if you believe it…if you weren’t encumbered would you be able to feel it? You’ve come a long way just since I’ve been reading you. I used to feel soooo much pain coming from you!

  2. cdhoagpurple says :

    I think I’ve had it, but I doubt myself. Perhaps I was just trying to convince myself I had it. I’m so good at trying to convince myself of things I want to believe, as are most people, I think. Feelings are so ephemeral and can be induced with drugs. I’m too cynical to believe much of anything now. I’ve believed too much in the past only to find out just how mistaken I was. Of course, I could feel differently tomorrow.

  3. Ninasusan says :

    That’s the beauty of having a tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

