Proof I Was Lied To

Yesterday I went to Barry’s doctor’s office to apologize and thank them for their efforts and efficiency.  I explained to them how the insurance company claimed that they (the doctor’s office) were the roadblock to getting benefits by delaying returning the forms to the insurance company. I explained how this triggered rage in me because it was like Barry’s family, who would say, “If you need anything, just call,” and then,when I would actually need something, say, “Well….Now’s not a good time.” When is it a good time to be in crisis and need help with a disabled husband? It’s an asinine statement. When Barry dies, maybe it won’t be a good time to invite them to the funeral. Sheesh.

Anyhoo…The most helpful person (I think of her as the “cat smock lady”) tells the secretary to find the file online with the fax cover sheets of received faxes. She does so and prints out a copy for me. In the place of “Fax Transmittal Date” is 2/10/17, but anyone can type anything there. At the very top of the sheet, not quite covered with Barry’s name, you can clearly see where the fax machine printed the actual date of transmission, 2/22/27! In other words, the person transmitting the fax pre-dated it by almost two weeks! I am ecstatic. It is not my opinion or assumption they are lying to me. It is a fact I can prove.

It’s not very often that you have tangible proof of someone lying to you. I’m not sure there can be a better definition of “bad faith” than that. If they choose not to give me benefits, I am going to get a big-ass settlement. Mine is a career-making case for some lucky attorney. The questions I am pondering now are “Even if they offer me benefits, should I still take their butts to court for all of the people they lie to and don’t provide paid-for benefits to? Do I just get my own needs met (sure would be nice for once) or do I go after justice?” I’m not sure, but I feel in charge for once.

Tags:

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

One response to “Proof I Was Lied To”

  1. Ninasusan says :

    I would go for the settlement. It’s not selfish. We don’t always have to do things for other people…sometimes we deserve the good stuff!

Leave a Reply

