It’s All Relative

The other day, I was copying and pasting parts of my resume online, feeling all ashamed of not having worked (or even contacted my references) in years. Shame is my primary impediment to growth sometimes. It’s that fundamental feeling of “WTF is wrong with me that I can’t do something so simple?” I am so Asperger-y sometimes that social niceties escape me altogether. Not helping. One problem I have is that it just feels sooooo good to be alone that it doesn’t occur to me how unsocial I really am sometimes.

Meanwhile, the TV was on, like it always is. Barry had it on CBS This Morning. Someone was talking about the labor market. It turns out that the economy is improving and there are more jobs. I credit Obama for the momentum of the recovery that Trump is taking credit for. Companies are having a rough time finding reliable workers, given the opioid epidemic. The new qualification for employment is to NOT be addicted to opioids.

I suddenly felt like a real catch! I am college educated and not hooked on anything other than caffeine. My crack house is Biggby, an East-Lansing-based chain of coffee shops in MI, OH, and some random other states. When lost in Maumee, OH, attempting to get onto the turnpike, (on the way to WV last year) I had never been so happy as to find a Biggby. I whipped out my Biggby card, got a mocha, and got directions. I rock! Compared to people hooked on fentanyl or heroin, I shine like the sun. And there I was, feeling routinely ashamed.

It really is all relative.

About cdhoagpurple

I have an MBA, am married to a GM/UAW retiree with Huntington's Disease. I am more Buddhist than Christian. I plan on moving to Virginia when widowed. I have a friend''s parents that live down there and another friend living in Maryland. I am simplifying my life in preparation for the eventual move.Eight years ago, my husband had stage 4 cancer. I am truly "neither here nor there." My identity shifts and I am always surprised where I end up. 2015 was my hardest year ever. This is my Dark Night of the Soul. Welcome to it.

2 responses to “It’s All Relative”

  1. Ninasusan says :

    😀 everything is relative! I’m going to keep,that one circulating in my mind!!!

Leave a Reply

